Liverpool stars Salah and Mane fight Man City's Mahrez for African Player of the Year

Three Premier League stars have been shortlisted for the honor, with the present holder wanting to imitate any semblance of George Weah with a third success

Mohamed Salah faces rivalry from Liverpool partner Sadio Mane and Manchester City's Riyad Mahrez in his offered to be named African Player of the Year for the third time in succession.

The Premier League stars have been named as the last three contenders for the honor, which has had a place with Egypt global Salah for as long as two years.

Algeria winger Mahrez won it while still at Leicester City in 2016 however Mane seems to be Salah's nearest rival after twice completing as sprinter up to his individual Anfield top choice.

The pair were both basic in Liverpool's walk to their first Champions League title since 2005 this year, won gratitude to a Salah punishment in the last against Tottenham.

His strike accomplice, in any case, has additionally appreciated a rich vein of structure for both club and nation.

Mane has scored unreservedly all through 2019 and helped Senegal arrived at the Africa Cup of Nations last, which they lost to Mahrez's Algeria.

With three objectives Mane top scored for his country in the competition, with Mahrez likewise arriving at that figure on his approach to lifting the trophy.

The playmaker likewise helped City take the Premier League title by one in May, prevailing over Liverpool in nail-gnawing conditions.

Cameroon's Ajara Nchout, Nigeria and Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala, and a year ago's champ Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa are shortlisted for the African Women's Player of the Year grant.

The victors will be reported at a function in Hurghada, Egypt on January 7.

Should Salah again be named as Africa's best player, he will join a select gathering of players to win the away on at least three events.

Ex-Barcelona star Samuel Eto'o and previous City authority Yaya Toure are the main men to have lifted the prize multiple times, while George Weah and Abedi Pele triumphed on three events.

Post a Comment