Ben Stokes among England cricketers in New Year Honors list

Ben Stokes is one of England's Cricket World Cup victors to have been perceived in a New Year Honors list which additionally incorporates some trailblazing figures in ladies' game.

Stokes and his colleagues Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, and Jos Buttler were altogether granted titles for administrations to cricket, as was effective mentor Trevor Bayliss.

England's Cricket World Cup win was among the highlights of the sporting year and one-day captain Morgan, who masterminded the team's revival following a poor showing at the 2015 World Cup, has been honoured with a CBE.

Stokes is awarded an OBE after an amazing summer which saw him win the player of the match award at the World Cup final and then play one of the greatest innings in Test history, as England beat Australia in the third Ashes Test at Headingley.

Bayliss, the Australian head coach who helped Morgan revolutionise England's white-ball cricket over his four years in the job, takes an OBE.

Buttler becomes an MBE, after completing the run-out that clinched World Cup glory, and Test captain Root - who was England's top run-scorer at the tournament - gets the same accolade.

Elsewhere in the sport, former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd has received a knighthood, while Colin Graves, the chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board since 2015 and a former executive chairman of Yorkshire, has been handed a CBE.

Alan Knott, regarded as one of the game's greatest-ever wicketkeepers, can now add an MBE to his record of 95 Test caps and 1,211 first-class dismissals.

Post a Comment