Friday, February 1

Nigeria have booked a spot in the 2018 CAF

Nigeria have mark a spot in the 2018 CAF African Nations Championship final after wining Sudan 1-0 on Wednesday at Stade de Marrakech. 

Nigeria through to Chan 2018 final
Nigeria through to Chan 2018 final
A goal score by Okechukwu Gabriel helped the West Africans secure a spot in the final where they will the play hosts Morocco on Sunday.

As early as the 12th minute, the Super Eagles were dealt a huge blow when goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa sustained an injury, forcing him to be replaced by Oladele Ajiboye.

Three minutes later, Sudan had a glorious opportunity to grab the lead in the 15th minute, but Ajiboye was quick to read the danger.

However, it was Nigeria who found the back of the net a minute later when Gabriel beat Elhadi Akram from close range with a low shot.

In the 25th minute, Gabriel came close to bagging his brace when his left-footed shot sailed inches wide of Akram’s left corner.

Despite good moves and dominance by the Falcons of Jediane in the dying stages, it was 1-0 at halftime for Salisu Yusuf’s men.

Nigeria looked threatening in the second half, but Ifeanyi Ifeanyi was shown his marching orders in the 58th minute after a dangerous tackle.

Coach Zdravko Logarusic’s men would take advantage of the situation and Osman Ismaeil saw his powerful shot going wide, with Ajiboye becoming a spectator.

With three minutes to go, Sudan were also reduced to 10 men when Bakri Bachir received a straight red for bringing down Solomon Ojo.

Nigeria’s Ajiboye kept his team in the game after producing two brilliant saves in the 90th minute to ensure they are through to the final.

The defeat for the Sudanese means they will meet the Mediterranean Knights of Libya in the third-place playoff on Saturday night.

Nigeria (1) 1 (Gabriel 16’) 

Sudan 0

Nigeria: Ezenwa (Ajiboye 12’), Osas, Udoh, Okgbue, Eze, Ali (Ibrahim 77’), Ifeanyi, Ojo, Oladapo, Gabriel, Okpotu (Musa 62’)

Sudan: Akram, Abuuagla (Taher 53’), Dafalla, Makki, Idris, Maki, Gesalla (Yagoub 64’), Samawal (Babikir 76’), Bashir, Ismaeil, Nasreldin
source: supersport

No comments:

mid ads