INEC declared okigwe North Senatorial election inconclusive in IMO state

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Okigwe North Senatorial election in Imo state inconclusive.

INEC Public Relations Officer (PRO) in the state, Immanuela Okpara, said this while speaking with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Owerri on Tuesday.

Mrs Okpara said the three Local GOkiovernment Areas (LGAs) involved are Obowo, Ehime-Mbano and Ihitte-Uboma.

According to Mrs Okpara, INEC is yet to receive results from the three LGAs, three days after the election, hence the verdict.

She said a date would be announced for a rerun in the affected LGAs.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released results of 118 National Assembly seats out of the 469.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that from ongoing collations since elections on Saturday, 44 winners have been announced for Senatorial positions out of 109 as at 3 p.m. on Tuesday.

Eleven winners are from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), 32 from All Progressives Congress (APC) and one from Young Progressive Party (YPP)

Also, 74 winners have been announced by INEC for the House of Representatives seats out of 360.

NAN reports that 24 are members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), six from the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and 44 from the All Progressives Party (APC).

Post a Comment